2013 Nissan Leaf, 2013 Nissan Leaf Charging Side,Used 2013 Nissan Leaf

Used 2013 Nissan Leaf Review

Posted by

Electric Vehicles (EVs) are disrupting the traditional auto industry. Over the next decade, I’m sure we will see explosive growth in the sales of EVs. One of the EVs leading the way is the Nissan Leaf. Since 2010, over 300,000 Nissan Leafs have been produced, making the Nissan Leaf the world’s most popular EV. Recently, I went on a test drive with Doug Beckett, a local(Prince George, British Columbia, Canada) Nissan Leaf owner. Doug has owned his used 2013 Nissan Leaf for about a year, and shared his ownership experience with me.

Disclaimer

One of the reasons for the Nissan Leaf’s popularity, is that the Leaf is competitively priced compared to other similar sized vehicles.  Factor in the cost of fuel(electricity vs. gasoline), and the total cost of ownership is further driven down with an EV.

2013 Nissan Leaf, 2013 Nissan Leaf Charging,Used 2013 Nissan Leaf

Used 2013 Nissan Leaf – Fun Facts

  • This Leaf was originally purchased in California, in November 2013.
  • In 2017, the Leaf was imported into Canada and sold to the current owner via a Nissan dealer in Victoria, British Columbia.
  • In June 2017, the current owner received the Leaf with just over 72,270 (44,906) km on it at a total price of $16,626.40 (Canadian Dollars)
  • Detailed Cost breakdown for the used 2013 Nissan Leaf:

    2013 Nissan Leaf

    $  13,240.00

    4 steel rims

    $        360.00

    shipping from Victoria to Prince George

    $        750.00

    Documentation Fee

    $        495.00

    GST

    $        742.25

    PST

    $    1,039.15

    Total

    $  16,626.40

  • As of July 2018, the Leaf now has just over 92,166 km (57,269 miles) equating to 19,896 km (12,363 miles) driven.
  • Battery pack size is 24 kWh which means a full charge at current BC Hydro Residential Rates would approximate be $2.23 or $3.34 (Canadian dollars) depending if you are on Step 1 or Step 2 rates and a full charge should get you 135 km (84 miles). For more info about BC Hydro rates please click here. For further detailed info regarding mileage and fuel costs please scroll down the page. 
  • Prince George, British Columbia has a few EV charging stations. At this time, they are free to use(except for parking lot charges.) It should be noted that as EVs increase in popularity, EV stations are expected to start charging. Here’s a photo of a local EV station:

2013 Nissan Leaf, Nedco Prince George, Used 2013 Nissan Leaf

Nedco EV Charging Station

Nedco Charging Station

 

2013 Nissan Leaf, 2013 Nissan Leaf Dash,Used 2013 Nissan Leaf

Used 2013 Nissan Leaf Review Summary

Maybe it seems odd to review a car that is nearly 5 years old and has over 92,000 km (57,166 miles) on it. On the contrary, I see an opportunity to demonstrate that Electric Vehicles are just as durable or even better than their internal combustion engine counterparts. My hope is that this blog post will encourage my readers to learn more about EVs.

Overall, the Nissan Leaf is a great vehicle. Yes, the first generation Nissan Leaf has limited range. However, if you drive less than 100 km a day, and can charge at home, this is a great car! This used 2013 Nissan Leaf has quick, smooth, and instant acceleration. Not only that but the Leaf is quiet, and has a surprising amount of interior space for passengers and luggage. Since the motor is electric, oil changes and other maintenance costs, are greatly reduced. In summary, the Nissan Leaf is a great car for commuting around the city.

Please check out some of my Electric Vehicle Reviews here. Also, feel free to like, share, or comment on this or any of my other posts. Thanks again for reading my Used 2013 Nissan Leaf Review.

Furthermore, if you have an Electric Vehicle in Prince George and would like me to blog about it, you can get in contact with me by contacting me at mmckinlay at hotmail dot com.

The following information is from the Leaf’s owner. I have made a few limited edits. 

Fuel Efficiency and Climate

  • The fuel efficiency achieved from mid-June 2017 till about mid June 2018 can be seen in the graph below. Over these 19,114 km,  mileage went from 7.4 km per kW.h in the summer to 4.7 km per kW.h in the winter.  The kilometer weighted fuel efficiency over this time period is 6.3 km per kW.h.  At BC Hydro’s residential rate 1 and at 7.4 km per kW.h, it is costing us 1.3 cents per km for fuel (electricity).  At BC Hydro’s residential rate 2 and at 4.7 km per kW.h, it is costing us 3.0 cents per km for fuel (electricity).

Over the 19 114 km, I calculate that we have used 3 000 kWh of electricity at a cost of $297 (at BC Hydro rate 1) to $447 (at BC Hydro rate 2), and in the process have emitted 22 kg of CO2e Green House Gas.  Had the car been fueled by gas with a fuel efficiency of 30 mpg (equivalent to 10.6 km/litre or 9.4 litres / 100 km), we would have consumed 1 800 litres of gas at a cost of $2 500 (assuming $1.39 per litre) and emitted 4 220 kg of CO2e Green House Gas.

Consequently, the cost of driving our electric is about 10% of the cost of driving a gas vehicle with 30 mpg in the summer. In the winter, the cost is about 15% of the cost of gas.

Battery Range and Climate

When the 2013 Leaf was brand new, the “official” range was expected to be 135 km (84 miles) at a 100% charge. After nearly 5 years, and over 92,000 km (57,100 miles) later, this particular Leaf has lost about 15% of the battery’s original capacity. The reduction in capacity occurred at around 77,000 km (47,845 miles) in the beginning of August 2017. With the loss of capacity comes a reduction range.

Changes in outside air temperature can effect the range of the Leaf. As a result, in the summertime (20°C or 68°F ) this used 2013 Nissan Leaf now gets about 105 ~125 km (65 ~77 miles) on a 100% charge.  In the winter, during a cold day (-20°C or -4°F ) the range drops to a range of 60 ~ 80 km (37 ~ 50 miles).

The Leaf also has a “reserve,” leaving about 25 to 30 km (15 ~18 miles) of emergency range, if needed.

Battery Capacity Loss

Please click here for an interesting article on Battery Capacity Loss. From what I have read and heard, I envision the capacity loss for the Nissan Leaf to be something like this:

Battery Replacement Cost

A brand new battery with 100% capacity is about $7,000, installed. A refurbished battery with at least 80% capacity is about $2,000, installed.  Replacing problem cells is also possible and may also cost less than battery replacement.

Warranty information:

  • Basic Coverage 36 months or 36,000 miles ends Nov 29, 2016 or ends 57,936 km
  • Powertrain coverage 60 months or 60,000 miles ends Nov 29, 2018 or ends 96,560 km
  • EV System 60 months or 60,000 miles ends Nov 29, 2018 or ends 96,560 km
  • Lithium-ion Battery capacity 9 bars or greater 60 months or 60,000 miles ends Nov 29, 2018 or ends 96,560 km
  • Lithium-ion Battery 96 months or 100,000 miles ends Nov 29, 2021 or ends 160,933 km
  • Corrosion 60 months ends Nov 29, 2018
  • Seat belts 10 years ends Nov 29, 2023
  • 12 volt battery replacement we pay: 0% to November 29, 2015;  25% to July 29, 2016;  50% to January 29, 2018;  75% to November 29, 2020.

Thanks again for reading my Used 2013 Nissan Leaf Review! Finally, special thanks to Doug Beckett who again provided extensive and high quality information!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *